This page is available for sponsorship

Larry and Dixie Davis are musicians, singers and songwriters.

They recorded their first album, "Gonna Live It Up", with the B-side, "Welcome Alaska", in 1958. The record was engineered by country music star, Wynn Stewart, and produced by guitar great, Jimmy Bryant. Vocals were performed by Larry and Dixie, backed by Jimmy Bryant and his band.

Larry and Dixie didn't stop there. In 1959, they followed up their first album with their hit song, "Mental Cruelty", which they wrote and recorded. Capitol Records artists, Buck Owens and Rose Maddox, covered the single and took it to #1 on the Billboard chart. "Mental Cruelty" was also covered by Dottie West and Cowboy Copas for Starday Records.

Other songs written and recorded by the duo include: "Shark Bait" (1959), "Walkin'" (1959), "So Long To Heartache" (1959), "Mod" (1960) and "All We Have In Common" (1961).

In 1971, Larry and Dixie started their band, Nashville West. Their drummer, Scott Gantenbein, joined the band in 1973, and the trio toured the western and southwestern United States, Canada and Alaska for 5 years.

Currently, Larry and Dixie live in Wyoming with their family. They still love to pull out their guitars and amps and jam with their grandsons.

For more information about Larry & Dixie Davis, email the artists at

Page Posted December, 2009 -- ©Rockabilly Hall of Fame¨