Ian B. MacLeod

Ian B. MacLeod

March, 2002
Albums Released update:


Singles Released update:
1. Pickin' Like Perkins/Song In This Ol' Guitar/Jesus Even Loves Cowboys
2. Waterfall/Over The Rainbow

Update: June, 2001

IAN B. MACLEOD's "Thank You Mr. Perkins" CD is available from the Rockabilly Hall of Fame. It's a tribute in song to the memory of "The Godfather of Rockabilly," CARL PERKINS. This 25-track album is a great collection of Carl's songs that Ian recorded over several years. If you need a copy for radio airplay or a published review source, please contact: bob@rockabillyhall.com

Born of a Scottish father and an English mother, more years ago than he cares to remember, Ian left Scotland when two years old and headed for Ipswich where he spent the next fifteen years in the beautiful countryside of East Anglia, surrounded by farms and forests. At school he did well in science, art and social studies and when he wasn't singing in the local church choir, he spent his spare time sketching and listening to the armed forces radio from Luxemburg which featured a lot of Country and early Rockabilly music. Every Saturday morning he was at the Odeon cinema with all the local kids to see his idol Roy Rogers singin' and shootin' his way across the silver screen and decided that one day he'd be a cowboy singer too.

At fifteen, he started work as a Commercial Artist but soon became very restless and joined the Merchant Navy, starting as a kitchen boy peeling spuds on old cargo ships, and eventually ending up as a first class waiter on P.& O. travelling the world on such luxury liners as the Arcadia, Iberia, Himalaya and Stratheden. It was on these ships that he formed his first group after buying a guitar in Spain. They practiced every night in the mess nearly driving the crew mad, and whilst in Sydney on one of their trips, Ian and "The Bop St. Boys" appeared on 2UW's "Amateur Hour" and won it with "Boppin' The Blues", but had to be disqualified as they weren't residents.

This was all the incentive Ian needed. When he got back home, he packed his guitar and bags and set sail for Australia, but this time as a first class passenger on the Strathmore, and did he give those waiters hell! At the Great Northern Hotel in Chatswood he won his first talent quest and headed straight for the A.B.C. and Johnny O'Keefe who, after hearing him sing "Honey Don't" and "Move It", booked for A.B.C. radio's "Rockville Junction" and "Six O'Clock Rock". It was now 1960 and a thirty-nine year career in Country music was about to begin.

Johnny O'Keefe was not impressed with the young singer's name, saying that it sounded like a Scottish piper, and promptly decided in true O'Keefe style that henceforth he would be known as ADAM. And so for the next four years, Ian B. MacLeod was put into mothballs and "ADAM" was seen on "Six O'Clock Rock", "Bandstand", "Teen Time", "The Youth Show", "Woody's Teen Time" and "Adelaide Tonight". He was "ADAM" - Teenage Idol, a product of Australia's early rock era and probably the first true Rockabilly artist to emerge.

From 1960-1964, he enjoyed the fleeting success of all the artists of that era. Over a hundred T.V. shows, national tours and guest spots at every teenage dance in town, and one rather dreadful single on the Teen label backed by Johnny Devlin's "Devils". In 1964 the bubble burst as a new style of music was heralded in by "The Beatles" and similar groups. He formed a group called "The Nashville Five" and started from the bottom again as an unknown singer with a band that played Country and Rockabilly, not the most popular music at that time.

Then the groups line-up changed to a six piece and "The Major Six" was born. They worked clubs, pubs and teenage dances and in June, 1964, they were approached by David Gibson of Top Spot Records. Over the next twelve months they recorded about twenty tracks on a Rola two-track tape machine in a disused warehouse in Redfern. Shortly after these recordings had been completed, Top Spot Records folded and the tapes were presumed lost.

Twenty years later, at Ian's sister's house in Warragamba, Ian was sorting through an old trunk and found a box of tape marked "The Johnny Cash Show". Upon playing it he discovered the missing Top Spot recording sessions from 1964. They were promptly taken to Roy Cooper of Soundlab Studios and carefully transferred onto a new master tape. Twelve of these tracks were subsequently released in april, 1984 on an album entitled "Return To Six O'Clock Rock".

In 1967, Ian decided it was time to go solo again as he could now sing in tune and had improved his guitar pickin' 100%. By 1968 he was appearing on T.V. shows such as "Ernie Sigley", "I.M.T.", "The Bob Roger's Show", "The Club Show", "Travellin' Out West", "Reg Lindsay's Country Homestead" and "The Lee Conway Show". Club dates started pouring in, and country tours for George Hilder and Ted Quigg, who managed Ian for a couple of years.

In the early 70's, Ian started cruising with Sitmar, taking Country music to the cruising public for the first time and lasting right up until 1978 when he stopped cruising so he could be in Sydney more to concentrate on his record company which had started to take off.

Throughout the 70's, 80's and 90's, he has toured from Perth to Mt. Isa and back again, as well as working the club circuit in all states. In between all this, he has managed to record eleven albums and nine singles himself, and produce sixty albums and eighty singles for the artists on his labels. Ian's tribute album "Thank You Mr. Perkins" was released to rave reviews in national papers and magazines and received a personal letter from the legendary "King of Rockabilly" - Carl Perkins, saying how much he appreciated the tribute from Ian.

In June of 2000, Carl's son Stan, arrived in Australia as a special guest of the Wintersun Festival on the Gold Coast and starred in a series of shows throughout Qld. and NSW with Ian. Stan also recorded an album, "Pickin' Like Perkins", here with Ian and The Sonic Aces; a classic Rockabilly album featuring many of Carl's great hits, plus a couple of originals written by Stan and Ian - yet another great milestone for Rockabilly music and Ian's career now in its 40th year.


  • Pickin Like Perkins (with Stan Perkins>
  • Tribute to Slim Whitman
  • Hello Mary Lou
  • Return to Six O'Clock Rock
  • Forever Yours - 15 Classic Songs of Love
  • Thank You Mr. Perkins (re-lease on CD)
  • Jesus Even Loves Cowboys
  • Johnny O'Keefe Memorial Show - Live in Concert
  • Forever Yours
  • Thank You Mr. Perkins <
  • Return to Six O'Clock Rock (early 1964 masters)
  • Blue Suede Shoes: 16 Great Rockabilly Hits
  • Just For You
  • Hello Mary Lou (orig.)
  • The Country Collection - 20 Great Hits
  • Country Roundup
  • Country Australia - 20 Original Aissie C&W Hits
  • In Concert at Sea
  • Restless
  • Country Allsorts

  • Forever Yours / Buddy, Gene, Eddie, Elvis, Rick & John
  • Help Me Dream / The Rockabilly Express
  • Be Bop A Lula / I'm Going Home
  • Captain Moonlight / God Bless the Children
  • Song for Jenny / Rockabilly Cowboy
  • If We Don't Have Love / Goodbye Joanne
  • Sweet Fantasy / Goodbye Joanne
  • When You Say Love / Less of Me
  • Made to be Loved / Princess

  • Bookings:
    Pinewood Records & Promotions,
    PO Box 176
    EMU Plains, NSW 2750
    Tel: (02) 6742-1543
    Fax: (02) 6742-0249
    Email: admin@pinewoodrecords.com.au
    Ian's Email: ianb@pinewoodrecords.com.au
    Ian's Website: http://ianbmac.pinewoodrecords.com.au

    Rockabilly Hall of Fame